

County of Onondaga Office of the County Executive

> J. Ryan McMahon II County Executive

> > ongov.net

Media Release For Immediate Release: 4.10.19 Contact: Mark Nicotra (315) 435-3516

# County Executive Ryan McMahon Honors Emergency Communications Employees

The annual ceremony recognizes six employees this year

**SYRACUSE, N.Y.** – County Executive J. Ryan McMahon, II and the Department of Emergency Communications Commissioner William Bleyle recognized 911 Center Employees for outstanding performance during the past year during a ceremony held Wednesday morning at the 911 Center.

County Executive McMahon said, "Onondaga County has the best employees anywhere. This ceremony was an opportunity to say 'thank you' to all the men and women who answer the phone in times of emergency. There is often very little recognition in this line of work and the critical assistance they provide may go unrecognized and taken for granted." McMahon continued, "Thank you not only to the award recipients, but to all of the employees for their hard work and dedication 24 hours a day, seven days a week and 365 days a year to keep us safe."

The Department of Emergency Communications annually selects an Employee of the Year. This selection is based on the performance of an exceptional act, contribution of an outstanding idea, independently initiated self-improvement or accomplishment, outstanding community service, or sustained exemplary performance and conduct, which demonstrates the ideal of honesty, integrity, and excellence. For the year 2018 the Department of Emergency Communications has selected:

# Public Safety Dispatcher Todd M. Hall

The Administrative Award is given by the commissioner to help recognize individuals that have had a positive impact on the administrative function within the organization. For the year 2018, the Department of Emergency Communications Commissioner has selected:

# Account Clerk II Marylou Aureli

The Supervisory Award is given by the commissioner to the candidate that has shown initiative and leadership in the supervisory function and who have had a positive impact in his/her supervisory role within the organization. For the year 2018, the Department of Emergency Communications Commissioner has selected:

#### Deputy Commissioner Carl E. Loerzel, Jr.

The next awards are Peer Awards chosen by a committee made up of rank and file employees to select awards for: Police Dispatcher of the Year Award", Fire/EMS Dispatcher of the Year Award; and Telecommunicator of the Year Award. This committee selects their recipients based on specific achievements or career long professionalism.

#### Police Dispatcher of the Year Award Presented to **Public Safety Dispatcher Mary W. Vadnais**

# Fire/EMS Dispatcher of the Year Award Presented to Public Safety Dispatcher Allen D. Klimek

### Telecommunicator of the Year Award Presented to Public Safety Telecommunicator Isaac Cruz

The Department of Emergency Communications Center received more than  $\underline{478,851}$  9-1-1 calls and 7digit emergency calls for service. Communications call takers received  $\underline{397}$  "Text to 9-1-1" messages. Of those messages, 166 resulted in the dispatch of public safety agencies.

###